InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Sayers missing from "white ball" focused cricket contract list


Limited overs internationals dominate the new additions to Cricket Australia’s revamped contracted players list, with Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft absent.

Comments Print article

South Australian cricketers had a mixed result, with Redbacks Kane Richardson and Alex Carey making the list for the first time but swing bowler Chadd Sayers – fresh from his Test debut – missing out again and leggie Adam Zampa dropped. Redbacks captain Travis Head has retained his place.

Bowlers Kane Richardson, Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye are new to the 20-man list for 2018-19, along with all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and wicketkeeper Carey.

New Test captain Tim Paine and batsman Shaun Marsh have re-joined the list after consolidating their spots since being surprise selections for the Ashes.

Spinner Zampa, pacemen Jackson Bird and James Pattinson, all-rounder Hilton Cartwright and wicketkeeper Matthew Wade drop off after failing to cement their places in Australian teams.

Sayers has again missed out despite being called up for his Test debut in South Africa late last month ahead of touring squad member Jhye Richardson.

The five new contractees all have international experience in limited overs cricket, with Stoinis a one-day international century-maker.

The 21-year-old Richardson, who is widely expected to one day wear the Baggy Green, made his ODI debut in the summer after two T20Is.

Kane Richardson has played 21 limited-overs internationals, while T20 specialist Tye has been on the national team scene since early 2016 as one of the best Big Bash League bowlers in the past two seasons.

“Alex (Carey) is the second wicketkeeper in this squad, alongside Tim Paine,” head selector Trevor Hohns said.

“He is a promising young player who has had a strong domestic summer and performed well in his international opportunities to date with bat and gloves.”

Opening batsman Bancroft has missed a contract despite being a chance to play for Australia again in early 2019 after he serves a nine-month suspension for ball-tampering.

Captain Smith and vice-captain Warner lost their lucrative contracts after their role in the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa saw them banned for 12 months.

CA 2018-19 contract list: Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye.

– with AAP

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Local News Matters

Media diversity is under threat in Australia – nowhere more so than in South Australia. The state needs more than one voice to guide it forward and you can help with a donation of any size to InDaily. Your contribution goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. Please click below to help InDaily continue to uncover the facts.

Donate today
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Cricket stories

Loading next article