InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Not JUST the footy scores


Perfect weather brought out the best in competition across the weekend in everything from rowing to cycling.

Print article

Ultimate Frisbee

SA Ultimate has named the teams for the 2021 Australian Under-22 Ultimate Championships being held in Melbourne from 9-11 July. Called the South Australian Blue Tongues, the 14-member female team will be coached by Ben Powlay, while the 18-member male team has Will Christopherson as its head coach.

The SAFDA State League Autumn 2021 is underway with team Trickery leading the Division 1 Mixed competition, while Furore leads the Division 2 Men’s comp and Oh Tees is top of the women’s race. The games are played at Lutheran Football Club fields off of Goodwood Road on Monday and Wednesday evenings.


The Darts SA Singles Tournament was held on Sunday with Peter Machin taking out the win in the men’s competition and Amanda Loch winning the women’s round. The tournament followed the mixed pairs event on Saturday that saw Barb Smyth and Peter Machin beat out Bek Heidke and Rob Modra.


The 47th Annual Riverland Cycling Weekend was held by the Riverland and Norwood Cycling Clubs in Berri on Saturday and Sunday. The annual tour of the Riverland attracted a large peloton, including the men’s and women’s Olympic track endurance teams. The Barry Skinner Classic was run on Saturday, with Leigh Howard taking out the win the 97.6 kilometre handicap race, pipping Sam Welsford and Jensen Plowright at the finish. Ruby Roseman-Gannon was the top female finisher, putting in a strong effort to finish 10th overall in the fast peloton.


The 2021 Australian Masters Rowing Championships were held at West Lakes from 27 May, attracting hundreds of interstate rowers to the world-class course in perfect weather. The four days of rowing saw 304 races across all disciplines and boats, with a highlight being South Australia taking out the Interstate race in the Men’s 8s over 1000m. The crew of R.Ellis, B.Natt, N.McDonald, K.Tankard, D.Derlique, D.McLeod, M.Hooper, R.Hamilton and coxswain B.White beat NSW, Queensland, Victoria and the ACT in a time of 2.58.59.

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Local News Matters

Media diversity is under threat in Australia – nowhere more so than in South Australia. The state needs more than one voice to guide it forward and you can help with a donation of any size to InDaily. Your contribution goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. Please click below to help InDaily continue to uncover the facts.

Donate today
Powered by PressPatron

More Sport stories

Loading next article