InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Marshall unveils new Cabinet


Premier Steven Marshall has unveiled his new Cabinet.

Comments Print article

The Government confirmed its full list of ministries this morning ahead of swearing-in at by SA Governor Hieu Van Le at 1:15pm today.

Stephan Knoll, who was the Liberal Party’s spokesperson for Police in Opposition will become the Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Local Government, as well as Planning.

His responsibilities will cover the ministries formerly known as Transport and Infrastructure, City of Adelaide, Housing and Urban Development and Local Government.

The party’s Transport spokesperson in Opposition, David Pisoni, will be appointed Minister for Industry and Skills, encompassing the responsibilities of Employment, State Development, Manufacturing and Innovation, Automotive Transformation, Science and the Information Economy, Small Business and Higher Education and Skills.

Premier Steven Marshall is taking on the responsibilities formerly assigned to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation, Defence and Space Industries, the Arts, Veterans’ Affairs and Multicultural Affairs, in the top job.

Deputy Premier and Attorney-General Vickie Chapman‘s ministerial responsibilities will also include those covered by the Justice Reform and Consumer and Business Affairs portfolios in the previous Government.

Treasurer Rob Lucas‘s responsibilities are to include Industrial Relations, the Public Sector and Finance.

John Gardner will be Minister for Education, covering Child Development, as well as Higher Education and Skills.

David Ridgway will be appointed Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, a role which also subsumes the old Health Industries portfolio.

Michelle Lensink will be Minister for Human Services with carriage of the former Communities and Social Inclusion, Youth, Volunteers, Social Housing and Status of Women portfolios.

Stephen Wade becomes Minister for Health and Wellbeing, which also covers the former ministries of Ageing and Mental Health and Substance Abuse.

Dan van Holst Pellekaan will be Minister for Energy and Mining, formerly called the Resources and Energy portfolio.

Re-elected member for Adelaide Rachel Sanderson will be appointed Minister for Child Protection Reform, which also carves out child protection from the functions of Education Minister.

Tim Whetstone will be Minister for Primary Industries and  Regional Development. His responsibilities will also include the former Agriculture, Food and Fisheries and Forests portfolios.

Former TV journalist and anchor Corey Wingard will take on most of Stephan Knoll’s former responsibilities in Opposition, becoming Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services, as well as Minister for Sport, Recreation and Racing. His responsibilities include those of the former Road Safety portfolio.

David Speirs will be sworn in as Minister for Environment and Water, taking carriage of the responsibilities of the former Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation, Water and the River Murray and Climate Change.

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Local News Matters

Media diversity is under threat in Australia – nowhere more so than in South Australia. The state needs more than one voice to guide it forward and you can help with a donation of any size to InDaily. Your contribution goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. Please click below to help InDaily continue to uncover the facts.

Donate today
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Politics stories

Loading next article