InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Schwarzer added to honour roll


Comments Print article

Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) will award former Socceroos goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer with its highest honour, the Alex Tobin Medal.

The PFA announced Schwarzer, who retired from international football in November as Australia’s most-capped player with 109 appearances in the green and gold, would become the sixth recipient of the annual award.

The medal has previously been won by Frank Farina (2012), Mark Viduka (2011), Craig Johnston (2009), Joe Marston (2008) and Johnny Warren (2008), and will be presented to Schwarzer at the Australian Maritime Museum at a gala event on May 23.

The award was established to recognise Australian players who have demonstrated commitment and dedication to the game.

PFA president Simon Colosimo said Schwarzer would be remembered as one of the country’s greatest footballers and was a worthy recipient of the medal.

“The image of Mark celebrating after saving two penalties against Uruguay in the 2005 World Cup qualifier is one of Australian football’s most iconic images but his contribution went far beyond this,” he said.

PFA chief executive Adam Vivian said Schwarzer was a unanimous choice for the award.

“Mark has been an outstanding ambassador for our game both at home and on the world stage and has consistently illustrated his commitment to the betterment of the game and his fellow professionals,” he said.

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Make your contribution to independent news

A donation of any size to InDaily goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. South Australia needs more than one voice to guide it forward, and we’d truly appreciate your contribution. Please click below to donate to InDaily.

Donate here
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Soccer stories

Loading next article