InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Adelaide climbs A-League ladder


Comments Print article

Lowly Newcastle have maintained their remarkable hold over Brisbane Roar by downing the A-League ladder leaders 1-0 at Suncorp Stadium Sunday night.

A 59th minute penalty by Adam Taggart ensured the Jets extended their unbeaten run over Brisbane to five games including three straight wins.

They have lost just twice in 13 games at Suncorp Stadium.

It marked the first win for new Jets coach Clayton Zane in his fourth game at the helm.

Adelaide United’s win over Central Coast earlier in the weekend sees it sitting in third spot, aheadof Central Coast and Melbourne on goal difference.

Neither of the top two sides was able to post a win.


MELBOURNE VICTORY 3 (Archie Thompson 52m, Kosta Barbarouses 62m, Guilherme Finkler 90+5m) bt WESTERN SYDNEY WANDERERS 1 (Tomi Juric 90+4m) at AAMI Park. Crowd: 14,774. Referee: Ben Williams.

ADELAIDE UNITED 2 (Marcelo Carrusca 33m, Fabio Ferreira 45+1m) bt CENTRAL COAST MARINERS 0 at Coopers Stadium. Crowd: 6,980. Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones.

SYDNEY FC 2 (Ranko Despotovic 17m, Terry Antonis 65m) bt PERTH GLORY 1 (Rostyn Griffiths 67m) at Allianz Stadium. Crowd: 11,160. Referee: Chris Beath.

MELBOURNE HEART 5 (Orlando Engelaar 9m, David Williams 19m, 51m, 63m, Glen Moss 54m og) bt WELLINGTON PHOENIX 0 at Westpac Stadium. Crowd: 9,767. Referee: Jarred Gillett.

NEWCASTLE JETS 1 (Adam Taggart 59m pen) bt BRISBANE ROAR 0 at Suncorp Stadium. Crowd: 13,066. Referee: Takuto Okabe.


P W D L GD Pts

Brisbane Roar                          19 12 2 5  16 38

Western Sydney Wanderers 19  8  7  4  4  31

Adelaide United                      19  7  6  6  6  27

Melbourne Victory                 19  7  6  6 -3  27

Central Coast Mariners         19  7  6  6 -3  27

Sydney FC                                19  8 1  10 -3 25

Wellington Phoenix               19  6 5   8 -2  23

Newcastle Jets                        19  6 5   8  -5 23

Perth Glory                              19  5 6   8  -3 21

Melbourne Heart                    19  4 6  9   -7 18


9: David Williams (Melbourne Heart), Adam Taggart (Newcastle), James Troisi (Victory), Stein Huysegems (Wellington) 8: Besart Berisha (Brisbane) 7: Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney) 6: Ranko Despotovic (Sydney), Jeronimo Neumann (Adelaide), Fabio Ferreira (Adelaide)

Make a comment View comment guidelines

Make your contribution to independent news

A donation of any size to InDaily goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. South Australia needs more than one voice to guide it forward, and we’d truly appreciate your contribution. Please click below to donate to InDaily.

Donate here
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Soccer stories

Loading next article