InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Top Dog Bont follows in Whitten's footsteps


Marcus Bontempelli has been crowned the Western Bulldogs best and fairest player taking out the 2016 Charles Sutton Medal in the club’s premiership year.

Comments Print article

The medal is just reward for a stellar season by the 20-year-old midfielder, who was also the Bulldogs’ top-ranked vote-getter in the Brownlow count and named as an All Australian in his third year in the AFL.

Bontempelli is the youngest Charles Sutton Medal winner since David Thorpe in 1968 and joins all time Bulldogs’ great Ted Whitten as the only only other Bulldog to win the medal in a premiership season.

Whitten, claimed the medal the year Footscray won the flag, 1954, and it was his first of five.

Bontempelli finished 71 votes ahead of Dale Morris, who was two votes clear of Lachie Hunter.

Bontempelli played all 24 games in 2016, averaging 24 disposals and four tackles.

Liam Picken was awarded the club’s best player throughout the finals series in which he averaged 23 possessions.


Make a comment View comment guidelines

Local News Matters

Media diversity is under threat in Australia – nowhere more so than in South Australia. The state needs more than one voice to guide it forward and you can help with a donation of any size to InDaily. Your contribution goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. Please click below to help InDaily continue to uncover the facts.

Donate today
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Football stories

Loading next article