InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism

Bob Day re-elected to SA Senate


Family First’s Bob Day has won the final seat in the Senate in South Australia, with the Liberals’ Sean Edwards and Labor’s Anne McEwen missing out.

Comments Print article

The Australian Electoral Commission announced the SA Senate results today.

The Liberal Party has won four seats, while Labor and the Nick Xenophon Team secured three each. The Greens held on to one through Senator Sarah Hanson-Young.

Among others who kept their spots in the upper house in the 2016 election were Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham and Opposition Senate leader Penny Wong.

The successful candidates for the 12 Senate vacancies in South Australia (in order of their election) are :

Senator Day had been party to a failed pre-election challenge to new electoral rules regarding the way senators are elected, which he had argued set the bar high for any minor party or independent seeking to win a Senate seat.


Help our journalists uncover the facts

In times like these InDaily provides valuable, local independent journalism in South Australia. As a news organisation it offers an alternative to The Advertiser, a different voice and a closer look at what is happening in our city and state for free. Any contribution to help fund our work is appreciated. Please click below to donate to InDaily.

Donate here
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More News stories

Loading next article