InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Libs stick with Marshall as new Cabinet meets


Comments Print article

UPDATED: Liberal leader Steven Marshall and his deputy Vickie Chapman have been re-elected unopposed at a meeting of Liberal MPs today.

The Liberal party room meeting at Parliament House also welcomed an injection of new MPs.

After the vote, Marshall took the newcomers out for coffee. Across town at the State Administration Centre, Premier Jay Weatherill welcomed his new Cabinet.

After the Cabinet meeting, Weatherill released details of the deal he struck with independent Geoff Brock, who met for the first time with his ministerial colleagues as Minister for Regional Development and Local Government.

Weatherill announced a $39 million funding package for regional South Australia, to be administered by Brock, including a $10 million jobs accelerator bund, and a $13.4 million boost to the regional development fund.

He also announced a review of workers’ rehabilitation compensation for CFS volunteers, and the establishment of a Parliamentary Budget Advisory Service in Treasury to cost promises of political parties.

The Premier also released details of his deal with Brock. Under the arrangement, Brock is committed to supporting the Government in Parliament on matters of supply and confidence for the next four years.

He can vote against Government legislation, but only if he has absented himself from Cabinet on the bill in question.

The new Cabinet line-up was sworn in at Government House late yesterday afternoon with Tom Koutsantonis taking on board a mega-economic portfolio covering Treasury, Finance,  State Development, Mineral Resources and Energy, Small Business and Automotive Transformation.

Newcomer Stephen Mullighan was pitched straight into the Cabinet in the important portfolio of Transport and Infrastructure.

Susan Close and Zoe Bettison, who both entered Parliament in by-elections in 2012, were also elevated to the ministry. Close will take on Manufacturing while Bettison has a grab-bag including Communities and Social Inclusion, Multicultural Affairs and Veterans’ Affairs.

Independent MP Geoff Brock also sat at the Cabinet table for the first time this morning, as Minister for Regional Development and Local Government.

There is some stability in other key portfolios.

Deputy Premier John Rau has retained his roles as Attorney-General and Planning Minister, with additional portfolio responsibilities for Justice Reform, Housing and Urban Development.  Jack Snelling retains his position as Health Minister, adding the unlikely pairing of Arts, while Jennifer Rankine continues in Education.

Weatherill has no portfolio responsibilities beyond the Premiership.


The Weatherill Cabinet:


Jay Weatherill:



John Rau:

-Deputy Premier


-Minister for Justice Reform

-Minister for Planning

-Minister for Housing and Urban Development

-Minister for Industrial Relations


Gail Gago

-Minister for Employment, Higher Education and Skills

-Minister for Science and Information Economy

-Minister for the Status of Women

-Minister for Business Services and Consumers


Jack Snelling

-Minister for Health

-Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse

-Minister for the Arts

-Minister for Defence Industries

-Minister for Health Industries


Jennifer Rankine

-Minister for Education and Child Development


Tom Koutsantonis


-Minister for Finance

-Minister for State Development

-Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy

-Minister for Small Business

-Minister for Automotive Transformation


Ian Hunter

-Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation

-Minister for Water and the River Murray

-Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation


Tony Piccolo

-Minister for Disabilities

-Minister for Police

-Minister for Correctional Services

-Minister for Emergency Services

-Minister for Road Safety


Leon Bignell

-Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries

-Minister for Forests

-Minister for Tourism

-Minister for Recreation and Sport

-Minister for Racing


Geoff Brock

-Minister for Regional Development

-Minister for Local Government


Zoe Bettison

-Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion

-Minister for Social Housing

-Minister for Multicultural Affairs

-Minister for Ageing

-Minister for Youth

-Minister for Volunteers

-Minister for Veterans’ Affairs


Susan Close

-Minister for Manufacturing, Innovation and Trade

-Minister for the Public Sector


Stephen Mullighan

-Minister for Transport and Infrastructure

-Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning

-Minister Assisting the Minister for Housing and Urban Development



Make a comment View comment guidelines

Local News Matters

Media diversity is under threat in Australia – nowhere more so than in South Australia. The state needs more than one voice to guide it forward and you can help with a donation of any size to InDaily. Your contribution goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. Please click below to help InDaily continue to uncover the facts.

Donate today
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More News stories

Loading next article