InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


Koutsantonis to Treasury in Cabinet reshuffle


Comments Print article

Premier Jay Weatherill has relinquished the role of Treasurer with senior minister Tom Koutsantonis taking the key economic role.

Koutsantonis was sworn in as Treasurer a short time ago at a ceremony at Government House this afternoon, as Weatherill’s new ministry was unveiled.

Deputy Premier John Rau has retained his roles as Attorney-General and Planning Minister, with additional portfolio responsibilities for Justice Reform, Housing and Urban Development.

Jack Snelling retains his position as Health Minister, while Leon Bignell has been promoted to Agriculture Minister.

Newcomer Stephen Mullighan has been given the important portfolio of Transport and Infrastructure. Susan Close, also new to the ministry, gets Manufacturing.

Koutsantonis will take on the Treasurer’s job at a difficult time with the deficit at record levels and the state recently losing its triple-A credit rating.

“I’ve always wanted to do the difficult things. I don’t want to do the easy jobs,” he said.

“I’ve always enjoyed a challenge and I relish this role.”

In response, Opposition Leader Steven Marshall said the new treasurer must recommit the government to returning the budget to surplus in 2015/16, as promised.

“If Labor demonstrates an unwillingness to do so, then it will have yet again spectacularly broken its budget surplus commitment,” Marshall said.

Other new faces in the SA ministry include Zoe Bettison with communities and social inclusion, multicultural affairs and veterans’ affairs and independent MP Geoff Brock as minister for regional development and local government.

It was Mr Brock’s support that delivered Labor enough seats to form a minority government after the March 15 poll delivered a hung parliament.

Weatherill said his new team was a blend of youth and experience.

“All of us are incredibly excited about the future of South Australia,” he said.

“We know it has challenges but we think our best days are ahead of us.”

Earlier on Wednesday the premier told the Labor caucus that the election victory was an historic one for the party.

He also warned his MPs that they would have to work even harder with the government having only the slimmest of majorities.

“A parliament of this sort will require extraordinary reserves of discipline and hard work.” he said.

“So if you think you’ve worked hard up to this point, you’re going to have to work even harder.”

– with AAP 

The Weatherill Cabinet:

Jay Weatherill:

John Rau:
-Deputy Premier
-Minister for Justice Reform
-Minister for Planning
-Minister for Housing and Urban Development
-Minister for Industrial Relations

Gail Gago
-Minister for Employment, Higher Education and Skills
-Minister for Science and Information Economy
-Minister for the Status of Women
-Minister for Business Services and Consumers

Jack Snelling
-Minister for Health
-Minister for Mental Health and Substance Abuse
-Minister for the Arts
-Minister for Defence Industries
-Minister for Health Industries

Jennifer Rankine
-Minister for Education and Child Development

Tom Koutsantonis
-Minister for Finance
-Minister for State Development
-Minister for Mineral Resources and Energy
-Minister for Small Business
-Minister for Automotive Transformation

Ian Hunter
-Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation
-Minister for Water and the River Murray
-Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation

Tony Piccolo
-Minister for Disabilities
-Minister for Police
-Minister for Correctional Services
-Minister for Emergency Services
-Minister for Road Safety

Leon Bignell
-Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries
-Minister for Forests
-Minister for Tourism
-Minister for Recreation and Sport
-Minister for Racing

Geoff Brock
-Minister for Regional Development
-Minister for Local Government

Zoe Bettison
-Minister for Communities and Social Inclusion
-Minister for Social Housing
-Minister for Multicultural Affairs
-Minister for Ageing
-Minister for Youth
-Minister for Volunteers
-Minister for Veterans’ Affairs

Susan Close
-Minister for Manufacturing, Innovation and Trade
-Minister for the Public Sector

Stephen Mullighan
-Minister for Transport and Infrastructure
-Minister Assisting the Minister for Planning
-Minister Assisting the Minister for Housing and Urban Development


Make a comment View comment guidelines

Make your contribution to independent news

A donation of any size to InDaily goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. South Australia needs more than one voice to guide it forward, and we’d truly appreciate your contribution. Please click below to donate to InDaily.

Donate here
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More News stories

Loading next article