InDaily InDaily

Support independent Journalism Donate Subscribe
Support independent journalism


AdYO Maestro series: New World Order


Comments Print article

The Adelaide Youth Orchestra (AdYO) offers an invaluable opportunity for aspiring soloists, ensemble performers, teachers and young people who simply love music.

Led by Elder Conservatorium’s head of strings Keith Crellin, the orchestra presented a selection of early American orchestral music at Elder Hall last night in the first concert of its 2014 Maestro series.

Beginning with the brass and percussion, the performance opened with Aaron Copland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man” – a homage to those serving in World War II – then the full orchestra joined with Camille Saint-Saëns’ “Violin Concerto No 3 in B minor, Op 61”.

While the entire ensemble is impressive, violin soloist Tianyou Ma mesmerised the audience with his immense skill. The 13-year-old has been playing violin since he was just three, and is planning to begin study with the acclaimed Yehudi Menuhin School in the United Kingdom later this year.

After an interval, the orchestra returned to the hall for the final and most emotive piece – Antonin Dvorák’s “Symphony No 9 From the New World”.

It is a pleasure to witness these young musicians expressing their love of classical music and enjoying the thrill of the stage. Their performances are both affordable and enjoyable, so keep an eye out on the website for upcoming performances –  who knows, you might witness a future world-famous soloist on an Adelaide stage.



Make a comment View comment guidelines

Make your contribution to independent news

A donation of any size to InDaily goes directly to helping our journalists uncover the facts. South Australia needs more than one voice to guide it forward, and we’d truly appreciate your contribution. Please click below to donate to InDaily.

Donate here
Powered by PressPatron


Show comments Hide comments
Will my comment be published? Read the guidelines.

More Music stories

Loading next article